27.2 C
Thursday, October 5, 2023

UK Tourists To Be Charged For Entering 30 European Countries

Must read


UK Tourists To Be Charged For Entering 30 European Countries

How much will it cost to travel to Europe post-Brexit?

As the UK has withdrawn itself from the European Union.

Now the travelers from the UK will be charged a sum of €7 (£6) for entering 30 European Countries which also includes the popular destinations such as Spain, France, Greece etc under new post-Brexit EU rules. Non-EU citizens who will be exempt from needing a visa will be asked to register and obtain authorization before travelling to the EU. British tourists who will visit the Schengen zone – which includes most EU nations in mainland Europe – will have to apply to the European Travel Information and Authorization System (ETIAS) before they depart. Because of the withdrawal of the UK from the EU due to Brexit.

The following changes will come into effect by the end of 2022.

Also Read: Top 7 Best Places to Visit in Cusseta, Georgia

The person who has a UK passport will now have to apply and pay for a new electronic travel permit. These permits will be expected to last for three years and allow unlimited travel across the EU. Now the Passengers who are travelling to the Schengen Zone will be treated as any other non-EU nation.

Previously, when the UK was part of the EU, they were enjoying freedom of movement across the EU. For short stays in the UK of up to 90 days, travelers won’t need an EU visa, but must apply for ETIAS. The new rules come as a result of a new IT system called the European Travel Information and Authorization System (ETIAS). It is not difficult to get the approval. It is expected that 95 percent of applicants will receive instant approval.

UK Tourists To Be Charged For Entering 30 European Countries


 As the UK has withdrawn from the EU Former Prime Minister Theresa May confirmed the return of the blue passports which are an expression of “independence and sovereignty.”

When the UK was part of the EU, their passports were seen to be in burgundy .But the passports are now blue. Travelers will also notice that the words ‘European Union’ have been removed from the cover.

Post-Brexit rules mean British passports must be valid for at least 3 months after the date they will leave the European country they are visiting.

Once the Entry/Exit System (EES) becomes operational, travelers will no longer need to have their British passport stamped.

The countries that will be impacted are:-

  • Belgium
  • Austria
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Netherlands
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Romania
  • Iceland
  • Switzerland
  • Liechtenstein
  • Norway
  • Sweden
  • Cyprus

Travel And Don’t Stop!

Contributed by

Ankit Raj Sharma.

Edited by

Imtiaz Ullah

- Advertisement -

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article