23 C
Wednesday, October 4, 2023

Everything you need to know about Michigan Kids car seat law in 2023

Must read

Everything you need to know about Michigan Kids car seat law in 2023

Everything you need to know about Michigan Kids car seat law in 2023


As parents it is of the utmost importance to ensure the safety of our children. One of the ways to do this is with proper attachment in a car seat or booster seat. Michigan has specific laws regarding the use of car seats and booster seats for children.

Stay informed about Michigan car seat laws in 2023. Find out what documents you need and what types of car seats are required for children of different ages to keep them safe while traveling in your vehicle.

For the official Michigan car seat law, see Michigan Compiled Statutes, Section 257.710d (car seats) and Section 257.710e (booster seats).

More on Travel Laws


Car seat laws in Michigan

Rear facing car seat law

Michigan recommends that children remain rear-facing until at least 2 years old. However, Michigan law requires that all children under the age of 4 be properly restrained in a federally approved car seat or booster seat when riding in a motor vehicle. If the child has outgrown their current car seat or is older than 4 years, it is allowed to use a rear-facing car seat.

Forward facing car seat laws

For children ages 4 to 8 who weigh more than 40 pounds but less than 80 pounds, Michigan law requires them to use either a forward-facing harness car seat with an internal five-point harness system or an appropriate booster seat. The child must also meet all other manufacturer’s weight and height requirements for both forward-facing car seats and any booster seats used during this period. Children should never transition to using an adult-only lap/shoulder belt until they are 8 years old and weigh 80 pounds.

Booster seats

Once your child is at least 8 years old OR 80 pounds, they can only use an adult lap/shoulder belt IF it fits them properly (meaning low on the hips and across the chest). If your child does not yet meet these criteria, but still needs assistance with proper positioning to fit safely into an adult lap/shoulder belt, you should leave them strapped in the booster until these requirements are met for proper installation of the safety restraint system.

When a child is qualified to sit in the front seat in Michigan:-

In Michigan, children must be 8 years old and at least 4.9 inches tall to sit in the front seat of a vehicle. If the child does not meet these requirements, he is required by law to ride in the back seat with a safety restraint system appropriate for his age and size. Car seats should be properly secured according to the manufacturer’s instructions, either with a lap belt or a shoulder strap system. It is important for parents to make sure that the seat belts fit properly before every trip.

Children under the age of 8 or under 4′ 9″ cannot legally ride alone in the front seat; however, if all available seats have been occupied by other passengers who meet the legal requirements and there is no space left in the back seat of a vehicle with two rows of seats (or three rows), then it is OK for them to occupy one of these positions provided they can use approved booster seats or similar devices as specified in state law. Additionally, it is important that you check your local laws regarding car restraint systems and booster seats, as regulations may vary from state to state.

Using an expired car seat in Michigan is legal or illegal? Here’s the answer

No, it is not illegal to use an expired car seat in the state of Michigan. But that doesn’t mean it’s a good idea or recommendation. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) recommends replacing child car seats after 10 years due to wear, damage to materials and changes in technology that could potentially reduce the effectiveness of the seat in a crash. In addition, there may be certain laws related to car seat expiration dates set by individual counties or cities in Michigan, which you should check with your local Department of Motor Vehicles for more information.

For those considering using an expired car seat, be aware of the risks associated with such a decision; older technologies may have lower performance ratings than newer models during a crash and could endanger your child if used after their expiration date. For maximum safety when traveling on the roads throughout Michigan, it’s important to be up-to-date on when these items expire and replace them as soon as possible.

Replacement of car seat after accident in Michigan

Have you recently been in an accident and need to replace your car seat? Michigan law requires that any car seat involved in an accident be replaced. This includes all types of child safety seats, booster seats and infant/child restraint systems.

Replacing a damaged or malfunctioning car seat is essential for your child’s safety as it can affect their performance in an accident. You should never attempt to repair damaged parts yourself as this could compromise the structural integrity of your car seat. Instead, always buy a new one from an authorized dealer or contact the manufacturer directly for more information on replacement parts.

When purchasing a new car seat, make sure it meets current safety standards set by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA). For additional quality assurance, look for labels like “JPMA Certified,” which have undergone rigorous testing by NHTSA-approved independent third-party laboratories before being approved for sale in stores or online.

To keep up with Michigan state best practices and laws regarding vehicle safety equipment like child restraints – be sure to get a replacement today!

How to install a car seat properly and safely

Car seats reduce the risk of death by 71% for infants and 54% for toddlers in passenger cars, according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. In Arizona, it is mandatory for children under the age of 8 to be properly secured in a child safety seat or booster seat unless they are taller than 4’9″ or weigh more than 65 pounds.

It is strongly recommended that parents and caregivers familiarize themselves with the proper installation and use of car seats to ensure the safety of their children in Arizona. To ensure that car seats are properly installed and used, the Arizona Department of Transportation offers car seat inspection events and educational programs.

Contributed by Ankit raj sharma

Edited by Imtiaz Ullah

- Advertisement -

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest article

11 Best Resorts in Michigan

11 Best Lakes in Mississippi

11 Best Lakes in North Carolina

11 Best Resorts in Texas