If you face a DUI charge in Prince William County, Virginia, you should contact a DUI defense attorney immediately. DUI convictions in Virginia can drastically affect your life as the state laws aren’t so forgiving if convicted.
According to a Prince William County DUI lawyer, if you are convicted of a DUI in Virginia, even if it is your first time, then you might face fines, driver’s license suspension, and incarceration, among other penalties.
If you were operating a motor vehicle with a high blood alcohol content, you could face up to one year in prison and/or a fine of up to $2,500. The mandatory minimum is $250. A first-time DUI offense in Virginia is classified as a Class 1 misdemeanor. Still, with a lawyer by your side, you can receive lesser punishments or have your charges dropped altogether.
First-Time DUI Offense in Virginia
Generally, first-time DUI offenders in Virginia with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of between .15 and .20 might receive a mandatory minimum jail term of up to five days or ten days if their BAC levels were higher than .20.
Apart from incarceration and other fines, most first-time DUI convictions result in one year of driver’s license revocation. However, fines and losing your driver’s license are the least of your concerns, as no one wants to end up in jail.
When it comes to the likeliness of facing jail time for first-time DUI offenders in Virginia, it all boils down to four factors:
- The severity of your offense
- Your BAC levels during the arrest
- If there were other aggravating circumstances, such as causing an accident
- The skills of your defense lawyer
If you had significant BAC levels above the legal limit and you also caused an accident, then you will be more likely to face jail time even as a first-time DUI offender in Virginia. However, you can also receive alternative penalties instead of jail time, such as probation, community service, and attending treatment programs.
It all depends on the severity and circumstances of your case and the skills of your lawyer. In Virginia, if you do end up doing jail time, there are other penalties that can come into play, such as large fines, driver’s license revocation, or even the requirement to attend alcohol education programs.
You Can Dismiss First-time DUI Offenses
With a good lawyer by your side, you can have your DUI charges dismissed or receive lesser penalties. However, you will still need to complete a monitored and approved alcohol education program successfully. In other instances, you might need to pay other fines and fees, attend DUI classes, partake in community service, or ignition interlock programs. It all depends on the circumstances of your case.
A DUI conviction is something that will follow you for many years to come, and it’s best to avoid getting convicted in the first place. Get the help of a skilled criminal defense attorney today to learn more.